Wichita SWE Awards

The Wichita Section of SWE is proud to announce the debut of Wichita SWE Awards to recognize the successes of Wichita SWE members who enhance the engineering profession and advocate for women in engineering through contributions to industry, education, and the community.

Each year, up to one award will be given for each of the following categories:

ICT Heritage Award – recognizes SWE members who have made a significant contribution(s) to the Society of Women Engineers at all levels of the Society and the engineering profession for at least fifteen (15) years.

ICT Trailblazer Award – honors women engineers who have been actively engaged in an engineering or technology profession and have ten (10) to fifteen (15) years of cumulative engineering experience.

ICT Groundbreaker Award – honors women who have demonstrated outstanding technical performance, as well as leadership in SWE and the community, in the first ten (10) years of their career.

Awards submissions are due by Wednesday, May 15th by 11:59PM CST. No exceptions will be made for late packages. The Wichita Awards Committee will review the submissions and make their selections. Notifications will be made by Friday, May 31st, and award winners will be recognized at the end of year banquet scheduled for Tuesday, June 11th.

For FY19 descriptions of each award, nomination forms, and FAQs, visit: http://bit.ly/2FRzlBD

Each award nomination package is structured from the criteria required for WE Local and Society Individual Awards. Wichita section applicants and winners will be given the option to have their package submitted for WE Local Awards (Fall 2019) or Society Awards (Spring 2020). More information can be found on those awards here:

Society Individual Awards: http://societyofwomenengineers.swe.org/awards/individual-awards

WE Local Awards: http://societyofwomenengineers.swe.org/awards/we-local-awards

For questions concerning Wichita SWE Awards, contact Michelle at awards@wichitaswe.org

Michelle Boehm joined SWE as a Civil Engineering student at the University of Missouri in Columbia, MO. She received an upgrade to a professional membership at the 2011 Region i conference and transitioned to the professional section in Wichita after moving here in August of 2011. Michelle works at a woman owned business called Cillessen & Sons in Kechi, KS. She has served as the FY13 Vice President, FY14 President, FY15 and FY16 Membership Chair, and is currently a FY17 Expo Co-Chair for Wichita SWE.

Posted in Section News Tagged with:


Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Like us on Facebook

Contact Us

Society of Women Engineers
Wichita Area Section
I005 PO Box 1096
Wichita, KS 67201

Jess Stitt

Shaina Shapiro

Madeline Mueller

Rachael Schwantes


Special Thanks

We would like to thank the following establishments for providing a location to hold our meetings:

Watermark Books & Café
Wichita Water Center